GAP Members

gap full
Resident GAP Members

Below are the current resident members of GAP.  Some members have their own page containing a brief biography, curriculum vitae, statement of research interests, and link to a personal page. 


Graduate Students and Postdocs:

Pablo Briñol Taylor Ballinger Brady Nahlik
Brad Bushman

Shelby Boggs

Tina Nguyen
Patrick Carroll  Vanessa Ivy Juan Ospina
Russ Fazio   Tao Jiang Aviva Phillip-Muller
Ken Fujita  Nick Khaligh Javier Granados Samoya

Curt Haugtvedt

Jesse Ladanyi Joe Siev
Richard Petty Jesse Ladanyi Kenneth Slagell
Vanessa Sawicki Phong Le Jonathan Stahl
Brittany Shoots-Reinhard Seel Bee Lee Mark Susmann
Steven Spencer Alison Londeree Jacob Teeny
Baldwin Way   Mark Matthews Laura Wallace
Duane Wegener  Courtney Moore Nancy Xu

GAP Graduates

These former GAP graduate students and postdoctoral fellows are investigating evaluative processes in many locations around the country.  Click on the underlined name link for more information (*Ph.D. or postdoctoral advisor in parentheses).

Jamie Barden  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, Howard University, Washington, D.C.

Jennifer Belding (*Petty); Behavioral Health Researcher, Leidos Research, San Diego, CA

George Bizer  (*Petty)Department of Psychology, Union College, Schenectady, NY

Pablo Briñol  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Elise Bui  (*Fazio); Researcher, Fors Marsh Group, Alexandria, VA

Steve Crites  (*Cacioppo); Department of Psychology, University of Texas-El Paso, El Paso, TX

Kenneth DeMarree  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, University at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY

David DeSteno  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, Northeastern University, Boston, MA

Geoff Durso (*Petty); Department of Marketing, DePaul University, Chicago, IL

Lisa Evans (*Petty); Lisa Evans Consulting, Columbus, OH (

Leandre Fabrigar  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Monique Fleming  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA

Melanie Green  (*Brock); Department of Communication, University at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY

Jeremy Gretton  (*Wegener); Research Associate, BEWorks, Toronto, Canada

Ingrid Haas  (*Cunningham); Department of Political Science, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE

H. Anna Han  (*Fazio); Senior Advisor for Social and Behavioral Sciences, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD

Curtis Haugtvedt  (*Petty); Department of Marketing, Fisher College of Business, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH

Martin Heesacker  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL

Tony Hermann (*Arkin); Department of Psychology, Bradley University, Peoria, IL

Luke Hinsenkamp (*Petty); Consumer Research Analyst, Nationwide Insurance, Columbus, OH

Allyson Holbrook (*Krosnick); Department of Public Administration, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL

W. Blair G. Jarvis (*Petty); Empirisoft Research Software, New York, NY

India Johnson (*Petty); Department of Psychology, Butler University, Indianapolis, IN

Christopher Jones (*Fazio); Department of Psychology, University of Illinios, Urbana-Champaign, IL

Brandon Kopp (*Petty); Research Analyst, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Washington, DC

Jeffrey T. Larsen (*Cacioppo & Petty); Department of Psychology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

Christopher Loersch (*Petty); Social Scientist at the Internal Revenue Service, Atlanta, GA

Andrew Luttrell (*Petty); Department of Psychology, Ball State University, Muncie, IN

Phil Mazzocco (*Brock); Department of Psychology, Ohio State University-Mansfield, Mansfield, OH

Michael McCaslin (*Petty); Consumer Research Analyst, Nationwide Insurance, Columbus, OH

Michael Olson  (*Fazio); Department of Psychology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

Evava Pietri  (*Fazio); Department of Psychology, IUPUI, Indianapolis, IN

Joseph Priester  (*Petty); Department of Marketing, Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA

Kyle Ratner  (*Way); Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, University of California-Santa Barbara

Matthew Rocklage  (*Fazio); Department of Marketing, University of Massachusetts-Boston, Boston, MA

Daniel Rovenpor  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, University of East Angila, Norwich, England

Derek Rucker  (*Petty); Department of Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

David Schumann  (*Petty); Tennessee Teaching and Learning Center, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

Ya Hui Michelle See  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Natalie Shook  (*Fazio); Department of Psychology, West Virginia University

Stephen Smith  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, University of North Georgia, Dahlonega, GA

Alan Strathman (*Petty); American Psychological Association, Washington, D.C.

Jacob Teeny (*Petty); Department of Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

Stephanie Tobin  (*Weary); Department of Psychology, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australia

Zakary L. Tormala  (*Petty); Department of Marketing, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Jay Van Bavel  (*Cunningham); Department of Psychology, New York University, New York, NY

Patrick Vargas  (*von Hippel & Petty); Department of Advertising, University of Illinois, Champaign, IL

Penny Visser  (*Krosnick); Department of Psychology, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL

Benjamin Wagner  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, St. Thomas Aquinas College, Sparkhill, NY

Laura Wallace (*Wegener); Department of Psychology, George Mason University, Fairfax, VA

Duane T. Wegener  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH

Aaron L. Wichman  (*Weary); Department of Psychological Sciences, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY

S. Christian Wheeler  (*Petty); Department of Marketing, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Paul White  (*Petty); Department of Psychology, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT

Nicholas Wright  (*Petty); Major/USAF, Policy Analyst, Office of National Drug Control Policy, Washington, D.C.

Alison Young  (*Fazio); Department of Psychology, Olivet Nazarene University, Bourbonnais, IL

Peter Zunick  (*Fazio); Department of Psychology, Centenary College of Louisiana, Shreveport, LA

Former GAP Faculty:

Wil CunninghamDepartments of Psychology and Marketing, University of Toronto, Toronto Canada

Roland DeutschDepartment of Psychology, University of Wurzburg, Wurzburg, Germany

Keith PayneDepartment of Psychology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC